Start of Summer School: A Photo Summary

I’m now two weeks into intensive training and one week into teaching summer school math.  I wanted to SHOW you a few of the structures and activities we’ve (my ELA co-teacher and I) have learned and implemented in the classroom.

I wake up at 5am and am on the bus to school at 6:05.  We begin setting up our classrooms at 6:45, and the kids start to trickle in from 7am through 7:30.  School (morning meeting, academic intervention, reading, writing, math, and lunch) lasts until 12:30.  All children have left the campus by 1pm.  We (teachers-in-training) continue to attend workshops and seminars until 4:30 and are back at the University (where we’re staying) by 5pm.  After eating dinner, I plan, grade, and organize materials until 11pm or midnight.

To be honest, these have been two of the most stressful weeks of my life.  Working 18 hours a day, though, is necessary when the learning curve looks like Mt. Everest.  And I FINALLY feel like I’m starting to get into my groove as far as planning and executing lessons go.

Here’s a tiny illustration:

The Ride to School/ the City Landscape

photo 3 (5)photo 1 (7)photo 2 (6)

Behavior Management and Reasons to Grow

photo 1 (8) photo 2 (7) photo 3 (6) photo 4 (2)

Day 1 Math Problem Response

(Explain your answer: “I know it because I did the math.”)

photo 1 (9)

Response to Homework

(*Note: not all of the kids were this positive*)

photo 2 (8)

An End-of-the-Week Teacher Evaluation

(Ranging from overwhelming positive to deeply honest)

photo 3 (7) photo 4 (3) photo 3 (8) photo 2 (9) photo 1 (10)

Also, to clarify my summer school students are entering 6th grade.  AND I just found out a week ago that I’ll be teaching 6th grade year-round when I get back to my city!

One thought on “Start of Summer School: A Photo Summary

  1. Barbara Yuodsnukis says:

    Dear Alesa, How I love reading your blogs. I never expect you to respond to my comments – they are just an indicator of my interest and how impressed I amwith the program and your ability to manage such a demanding experience. It’s just amazing to me. Love,Nonna

    Like

Leave a Reply

